Being Optimistic is an Intellectual Choice


I read this quote today on the web, and it really struck a chord with me. I struggle with pessimism at times, and the idea that we can actually choose optimism as our outlook intrigues me.

What are your thoughts on optimism?

Popular psychology tells us that we can completely change our destiny based on our outlook on life. The optimist is destined to live longer, live better, and achieve more. The older I get, the more I buy into this.

Take a career crisis for example. You can wallow in it, or use it to change your path in ways formerly unknown to you. Our soul changes as we learn more about the world, and it takes a certain amount of trust and optimism to actually see this great world for what it is.

I always remember optimism

Remember those times that someone believed in you, told you that your idea wasn’t crazy, or that validated your thoughts? It doesn’t necessarily mean seeking validation is weakness, as some might perceive, but it’s actually a human need. Call it what you will— validation, support, cheerleading, friendship. It’s all in the spirit of being optimistic about ourselves and to those  who share and delight in this point of view.

Change your viewpoint

One of my mentors once told me that the best way to solve a problem is to step into the other person’s shoes for a moment. Eye opener it is…. you start seeing the world in a completely different way.  When I struggle to relate to people, I try this little trick…. and it usually helps me in some regard.   There is also a literal sense of “changing your view” that I find refreshing, and that is getting out of your “norm”, your routine. Change it up, leave town, go to a new coffee shop, and take in another view.  It’s sure to change your perception somehow.

Share your point of view

The last and final thing I have to say about optimism is that it’s best shared. Share it with your friends, but better yet, share it with your enemies.  It will possibly affect their pessimism, and you can consider that you’ve done your good deed by showing someone a …. different way of viewing the world!!!

Leave a Reply

